District of Columbia | Business Law
Legal Question
Lawyer recommended I lie
Attorney handled incorporation for me. Failed to notify me of the need to file foreign corporation papers for Maryland (company is incorporated in District of Columbia). Told me to lie on form, saying I have not done business in Maryland, in order to avoid a $200 penalty (for having done business without filing as a foreign corporation). What should I do? And, do I have any recourse against my attorney (because I am planning not to lie and to ''suck up'' the penalty)?


