District of Columbia  |  Construction Law

question bubble
12/23/06, 3:49 pm

Legal Question


Sub Contractor Change Order

I am a GC, one of my supers on a job site in DC was told by the site contractor that the slope is inadequate for drainage and that the sub will bring fill for free to change the grade because he knew another guy that was giving the fill away. After this was done the sub was terminated by us for poor workmanship largely because the fill was full of trash like rebar and large stones greater than 12”. He is now asking for a change order for the free dirt and spreading it and for the sod that he placed on it which later died. He claims that our super should have stopped him because during or after all of the 9700 CY was brought to site truck after truck, and he is asking us for $140,000. He also says that my super helped him grade using one of his equipment, and yes our super did trying to help him (WRONG). He has no invoices for any thing. Am I liable?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search