District of Columbia | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I live with my wife and 2 kids. Under what circumstances and conditions, either my wife or I can fire a gun at a home intruder? Whether the intruder is armed or unarmed?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael E. Hendrickson |
If the intruder were armed and clearly breaking into your home (preferably under the cover of darkness) you could likely fire on him without concern for adverse legal repercussions. However, if the malefactor were unarmed and apparently breaking into your place, it could be more problematical for you (legally speaking) if your were to fire on him, depending upon the particular facts and circumstances involved in the situation and, it would probably not be as easy for you to claim self defense as in the first instance.
Whichever the case, however, best to call the cops ASAP. |
Top Attorneys in DC
Law Office of Jason Cleckner, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Law Offices of Joseph A. Trevino
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-20
Law Office of Gladys Weatherspoon
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-04
Search Questions and Answers


