District of Columbia  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
7/22/09, 12:14 am

Legal Question


I'm a server at a restaurant, and I called in sick last Sunday. When I came to work on Tuesday, my boss had written me up for calling in sick because he heard from one of the other employees that I 'had been out partying' the night before. I was told that if I'm written up 3 times I will get fired. I know I probably shouldn't have, but I signed the complaint in acknowledgement.

Is it lawful for him to penalize me because I called in sick?

Also, I know for a fact that there is another employee there who comes in a few hours late consistently, and he has never been written up for anything.

I'm sorry if this is too vague, but I'm wondering if this is a form of workplace discrimination. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search