District of Columbia  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/02/12, 9:04 am

How do I go about being someones Legal Guardian. She is not my child her mother passed away and our grandmother became her guardian and now she is sick and elderly and cant care for the child any longer.

1 Answer


Answered on: 1/11/12, 5:04 pm by Torrance Colvin

A proceeding to establish a guardianship for the assets of a minor is begun by the filing of a package of five documents with the Office of the Register of Wills: (1) a petition for appointment as guardian of the estate of the minor, (2) a bond, (3) consents from the minor’s parents if alive or current legal guardian if not (if they do not both sign the petition for appointment), (4) a proposed order, and (5) a consent to the appointment of the guardian signed by the minor if the minor is age 14 or older. When the documents are ready to be filed, the petitioner (ordinarily, the person asking to be appointed as guardian), the minor, and counsel of record, if any, must appear before an Assistant Deputy Register of Wills for a brief interview.

You can get the forms to be filed at:

http://www.dccourts.gov/dccourts/superior/probate/case_type_gdn.jsp


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Colvin Law Firm 7600 Georgia Ave, NW, Suite 100N Washington, DC 20012

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search