District of Columbia  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
10/16/07, 9:12 pm

Legal Question


Federal Tort Claims Act - Dep't of State

I was an employee of Department of State stationed overseas - after an incident when my significant other vandalised my car, the consulate where I was working involuntarily forced me to leave the country I was working in. The problem was I had a 4 week old baby, had recently had a C-section and they didn't tell me I was leaving the country permanently and sent me somewhere where I had no where to stay. I ended up homeless with a 4 week old infant and have developed severe anxiety, panic attacks and depression as a result of this. There was no attempt to assist me and the medical office told me to go to a local social service agency after kicking me out of the only home I had with a 4 week old. I am still an employee and have been reassinged to another country, however my mental and physical health has been severely compromised. Can I file a claim under the FTCA for negligent infliction of emotional distress?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search