District of Columbia  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/27/09, 3:47 pm

Legal Question


I'm on my Optional Practical Training until June 2010 and I'm employed. My student visa (F1) has expired. Can I go back to my home country for a visit without encountering problems during reentry?


question bubble
11/01/09, 4:15 pm

Legal Answer


You cannot expect to reenter the United States on an expired visa, and therefore you will have to go for visa stamping in your own country, making sure that you bring to the visa stamping interview the required documentation necessary to prove your current status.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search