District of Columbia  |  Insurance Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/03/07, 6:10 pm

life insurance

My ex-husband died in Washington D.c. and left me as beneficary of his life insurance policy, his sister has the policy and will not send it to me.

It is from his place of employment, what are my options.

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/06/07, 2:03 pm by Dan Street

Re: life insurance

The answer to your question depends upon several factors. Please call me to discuss your options.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Street Law Firm 13101 Preston Road, Suite 600 Dallas, TX 75240-5232

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/03/07, 6:15 pm by Glenn Brown

Re: life insurance

Was the policy taken out before you were divorced?

The divorce may have had an effect on the validity of his making you the beneficiary.

More information is needed.

Good luck to you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Real World Law, P.C. 6774 Market St Upper Darby, PA 19082

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/03/07, 6:16 pm by David Leon

Re: life insurance

YOu can always call and get a copy of the policy and claim form yourself. If the sister is contesting the policy's validity, then you need a lawyer ASAP.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David L. Leon, P.C. 3500 Oak Lawn Ave., Ste. 205 Dallas, TX 75219

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search