District of Columbia  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/25/09, 11:03 pm

Legal Question


My employer planned to take her employees on a fully paid cruise trip at the end of this year. I quit my job 2 weeks ago and now my employer told me that I am financially responsible to pay her for the cruise. I accepted her offer on going to the trip about 2-3 months ago and she did not disclose that I will be responsible if I were to quit my job. I do not wish to go on the trip anymore since it is a company outing. Am I legally responsible to pay her for the cruise? Thanks.


question bubble
10/30/09, 11:28 pm

Legal Answer


Probably, not(in my opinion).

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/31/09, 12:23 pm

Legal Answer


Did you sign anything that indicated you would be responsible for paying?

Elliott Teel

Law Office of Elliott R. Teel, P.A. 142 High St., Suite 219 Portland, ME 04101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search