District of Columbia  |  Employment Law

question bubble
5/04/10, 5:51 pm

Legal Question


As a teacher in a private school in DC we are asked to sign the following year's contract around April. I recently moved to another state where properties are cheaper but I drive 20 miles one way, 40 miles everyday! I was hoping to apply to schools around me. Unfortunately most school vacancies are posted around that time or a little after the deadline, needless to say I missed applying to a vacancy closer to my new residence.

What is the proper thing to do? Tell my boss I am applying to schools in my area? I know she will not like it. Apparently, the heads of school have an unspoken agreement not to take employees from each other. If I do tell her, she might ask me to resign without the guarantee I will get hired anywhere.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search