District of Columbia | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
i live in dc. i was renting an apartment that i could no longer afford. the person i sublet to did not pay rent and was evicted. the lease was in my name so technically i was evicted. thousands are owed. the person i sublet to says he paid me but he did not. he is threatening to sue me, plus i'm not sure what happens now with the thousands that are owed to property management company that owns the building. am i at risk of going to jail? i'm terrified, broke, staying with friends and near suicidal. please tell me what to do!
Legal Answer
No, you will not go to jail but a judgment could be entered against you for the "thousands (that) are owed". To avoid such a possibility, it would seem advisable for you to at least arrange for a consultation with an attorney who handles landlord-tenant mattes in the District and who should be able to advise you further on this particular situation.
Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314
► Other answers from this attorney

