District of Columbia  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
9/15/09, 11:53 am

Legal Question


I was subletting a room in an apartment.The tenant I'm subletting from is the sole person on the lease. It is a month-to-month lease and prohibits subletting without the landlord's notice and consent. I signed a lease with the tenant and not the landlord. I have since moved out ( she has issues making the apartment uninhabitable). Can I sue the rent I paid while living under an illegal lease?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search