District of Columbia | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Type your question here...What constitutes "squattes" in this case? My aunt's grandson invited some of his 1/2 siblings to move in. She reluctantly agreed to let them stay until they had enough for first and last months rent. That was about 5 or 6 years ago and they are still living in the basement. She pays all utilities, property taxes, etc. they pay no rent. She is now in poor health and I am concerned about removing them should I need to sell the property and put her in a nursing home. I live in Iowa she lives in Washington, DC.


