District of Columbia  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/08/09, 7:47 pm

Legal Question


New landlord - Social Security Number

I'm a new landlord. The building I bought has existing tenants. I have their leases but no personal info. In order to comply with D.C. tenant law I am trying to establish a landlord/tenant bank account which will put each of the tenants security deposits in escrow. As the owner of a single building I am not supposed to establish a single escrow account for all deposits so I am using the landlord/tenant account which requires SSNs for each tenant since interest is accumulated.

Since these are existing tenants and I did not screen their applications, there are a couple tenants that refuse to provide their SSN. I cannot set up accounts without the number. This puts me in a difficult situation.

I have notified the tenants of all the reasons I need it, included DC Tenant line about security deposits and arranged with the bank to receive the numbers directly if they would be more comfortable with that.

I'm unclear what, if any, leverage I have on these existing tenants. It's going to cause an issue setting up bank accounts and I don't believe I have the right to demand it or withold renewing a lease without it.

Eventually these tenants will move and I will no longer have the problem, but what do I do for now?

Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search