District of Columbia  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 5:17 pm

Legal Question


My neighbor passed and left a will for me to administer and i am the beneficiary. The property was willed to her through a living deed (she possessed the property as long as she lived). All of the original grantors relatives are deceased - what happens to the ownership of the property.


question bubble
11/17/09, 10:31 pm

Legal Answer


An attorney who handles probate and real property law matters would likely need to review this "living deed", the will, and any other documents/papers which are relevant to the matter in order to answer this question.

Michael E. Hendrickson

Attorney & Counsellor at Law 211 North Union Street Suite 100 Alexandria, 22314

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 4:38 pm

Legal Answer


As the administrator of her estate, you should know that the property is no longer in her estate. Upon your neighbor's death, did the property revert to the grantors or others? I would have to review the deed that gave the grantors the property and the deed giving the life estate to properly advise you.

Licensed and practicing in DC.

1718 M Street, NW

#149

Washington, DC 20036

Paula McGill

Attorney at Law 191 Peachtree Street, Suite 3300 Atlanta, GA 30303

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search