District of Columbia | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Sexual Harassment Investegation
What are some key questions I should ask an alleged wrongdoer who has not overtly sexually harassed a women, but conveys a very negative attitude toward them and is very disrespectful to his female coworkers?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Sexual Harassment Investegation If you are an employer and an allegation of sexual harassment has been made, you should have a professional assist you in the conduct of the investigation. Some companies do conduct initial investigations themselves. However, they conduct them through Human Relationship professionals who have been trained to conduct the investigations. Since you are asking what questions to ask, I presume that you have not been trained in that area.
Ordinarily, I try to offer at least some legal advice when I answer postings on Lawguru. However, your request is so broad (what questions to ask to investigate an allegation of sexual harassment) and your potential expense and exposure are so potentially large, that I simply have to tell you that this is a time when you really need to pay for professional legal advice.
To do otherwise would be pennywise and pound foolish. You should consult with an attorney, find out what to do under your particular facts to protect yourself and your business, and then take steps to make sure that if the person who complained files formal charges that you can defend yourself.
While you are at it, you can make sure that you adjust your policies and procedures to make sure that you are consistent with law in this area and protected against future claims as well.
Good luck. Please feel free to give me a call if you want to chat quickly about where to go for help. |
Top Attorneys in DC
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Akin-Deko & Puig PLLC
Washington Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
The Gbenjo Law Group
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-23
The Colvin Law Firm
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-17
Search Questions and Answers


