District of Columbia  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
10/19/09, 4:11 pm

Legal Question


I received a red eye DC moving violation ticket. It says "no Points". I live in NJ and called NJDMV and they said if I plead guilty, when the moving violation transfers I will be assesed two points.

It is unknown at the time who was driving with a friend from NJ.

On the ticket I have three options: 1) request a hearing 2) Request mail adjudication but wave right then to inperson hearing or 3) State my vehicle was not stolen but was not in my custody , are or control at time of infraction. for this defense fill out name of driver and drivers license number.

Question: What should I do?

It takes 6 hrs to drive to DC.

Should I request in the adjundication to have them reduce it to a parking violation?

Do you know any relatively less expensive attorney who can show up for me to have it reduce?


question bubble
10/24/09, 4:53 pm

Legal Answer


Are you saying that you got a red light camera ticket? If so, no points should be assessed in NJ. The new red light cameras in NJ are the same as down here - they are non-point infractions. Not only that, the ticket in DC is placed against your registration, not your license (i.e. if you don't pay, your registration is suspended). So there is no possible way the ticket would transfer to your license. You should check again with DMV and make sure they are aware that it is a camera ticket.

Jason Cleckner

Law Office of Jason Cleckner, LLC 110 N. Washington Street, Suite 400 Rockville, MD 20850

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search