District of Columbia  |  Workers Comp

question bubble
9/14/04, 10:58 pm

Legal Question


one lump sum

I had a back injury in 1999, from lifting something too heavy at my job. My doctor said I was 37% totally disabled, I had surgery in 2001 for herniated disc. Receiving weekly workmans compensation payments. Right now I am just getting temporary total disability, court date pending for permanent total disability. Am I allowed to get a lump sum instead of receiving weekly payments for the rest of my life. I also heard you can get just half in a lump sum and the rest in weekly payments, is this true. I get 248.00 per week. I was wondering how much of a lump sum I would receive, and do they consider that the cost of living rises, and if I was still working I would get raises. What do you see my lump sum payment being?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search