Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
Cohabitation
Is there a law that say a person is entitled to the other person's money/property/assets after they have lived together for 3 years in Florida?
Cohabitation
Is there a law that say a person is entitled to the other person's money/property/assets after they have lived together for 3 years in Florida?
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: Cohabitation NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
No, there is no such law. Florida does not recognize or give any rights to a party who lives with another as to the other person's property(ies). This holds true even if the parties eventually marry thus no rights are established in the other party's pre-marital assets unless the second party can establish that he or she contributed to that asset.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
|
Read More Answered By: Mark Hanks |
Re: Cohabitation No, there is not. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL
Questions Answered: 4585
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
► Child support the state of massachusetts want to serve me with a court order but i...
► Adopting my stepson I have been raising my sweet boy since he was four. He is now...
► Paternity Part 1. I my X live in girlfriend filed for child support and sent the...
► Divorce My husband and I want to get a divorce. My concern is that I discovered that...
► Alimony What are the guidelines regarding Alimony. I am wanting a divorce and have a...
► Divorce I am wanting a divorce and I do not know where my spouse is. I have divorce...
► Email statements Can emailed statements of promise to pay money borrowed that were...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press