Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/12/12, 12:41 pm

My husband passed away and only his name was on the mortgage but both our names are on the deed? What happens now? What are my rights and obligations?

3 Answers


Answered on: 4/12/12, 1:02 pm by David Slater

If the mortgage is not paid, the lender has the right to foreclose. Since you did not sign the note, you have no personal liability. You may also need to probate his estate.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/12/12, 1:29 pm by Richard Kaplan

If the deed lists you and your husband as "husband and wife," or "his wife," or "her husband," then you become the sole owner.

Assuming what you said is correct, and you never signed any papers for the lender, the lender may have defective title to foreclose on.

But, if you did sign something with the lender, then they could foreclose out the property if you don't make payments.

Without more information I could not venture further.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/12/12, 2:43 pm by Robert Roemer

I would have to review the deed to the to see the wording of your name and his name to determine whether you own the property by a right of survivorship. In addition, the mortgage document that reflects the banks interest in money loaned on the property would have to be examined to see your exact rights and obligations. It's important for your future financial and estate planning to find out the answers to these questions so that you could redraft your own estate plan knowing the legal situation this property is in presently. I'm sorry to for your loss and express my condolences to you. If you would like me to review the situation please feel free to call me or send me an e-mail as much of my practice is done virtually now.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Robert Brian Roemer LLC 11380 Prosperity Farms Rd Suite 204 Palm Beach Gardens, 33410-3474

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search