Florida | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Property Loss Insurance Claim
Last Monday evening my son and his family lost their home and belongings to fire. Their insurance co. is Citizens. They are asking them to produce purchase receipts or puchase dates and prices for belongings. All their paperwork and records were lost in the fire. How can they be expected to produce proof of purchase price receipts. Also they have been together for more than 10 years so it is very difficult to remember exactly when a household item was purchased. Also I have given them many household items I have purchased over the years and also from garage sales. When I would purchase them an appliance or something large I would give them the receipt with the warranty booklet. There is no way possible to prove price of all their possessions and it would be impossible for me or anyone else to keep receipts from years back. Most of the receipts fade off after a while anyway. Is this fair and reasonable behavior on the part of the insurance co. They would just like to get this settled so they can put their life back together. This has been very difficult on their 4 small children at this time of year especially. Thank You


