Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
If you sell a corporation to another corporation, are any liabilities transferred to the new owner?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Peter Gonzalez |
It depends on what is actually being sold and purchased and how the transaction was structured. If you purchased only the assets of a corporation (and not its liabilities) under an Asset Purchase Agreement, then typically the liabilities are not part of the buying equation. If you purchased the shares of stock of the corporation, then you take the corporation as you find it, liabilities and all. Without reviewing the documents that governed and controlled the sale and purchase transaction, no one can give you any meaningful answer that you can rely upon. The documents should tell the story. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7773
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


