Legal Question in Immigration Law in Florida

I am sponsoring my spouse on the i864, however i have been unemployed since 2003. My husband's aunt will be a joint sponsor since i do not have any income. My husband will begin working at a comoany as soon as he acquires his work permit. In number 25 of part 6 i am supposed to put down my tax returns for the past 3 years. What do i do if i was and still am unemployed. I was living overseas with my spouse who has been supporting me this whole time.

Asked on 5/05/12, 10:58 pm

2 Answer from Attorneys

Latangie Williams Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You need to get a letter from the IRS stating you were not required to file for the years you were unemployed. Refer to the instructions page of the I-864

Read more
Answered on 5/18/12, 10:39 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Florida


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now