Florida | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Title Deed Name Change
Both my parents died last year and left a will dividing the house to their children. Since the home is fully paid for the only thing we have to do is divide the property tax 3 ways every year. We are looking to change the deed to our name as difined in the last will and testament. How should we go about doing that? and what steps should we take.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: Title Deed Name Change NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
When your first parent died, the title of the property would belong to the surviving spouse providing it was held in joint tenancy (or joint tenants with right of survivorship). Since both parents have now passed away, in order to change the title to your and your siblings the estate of whichever parent died later will have to be probated in the county in which they resided and the property is located.
Depending on the value of the estate and the date of death of the parent who died later, you may be able to file under Summary Administration in order to save on expenses. Alternatively, you will have to file a formal estate in order to transfer the title to the residence as well as any other asset which needs to be probated.
You will need certified death certificates of BOTH parents as you will have to prove to the court that both parents are deceased. If there is a will, it should be brought with you when you meet with an attorney for filing the probate.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. Miami, Florida |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


