Florida | Disability Law
Legal Question
I am curious if your salary can be cut after you have informed your boss that you have been declared blind. In Jan I was cut $10,000. Today I was cut $20,000. I have no "right ups' for either cut. I have been praised over and over. He is blaming it on the economy. I have worked for the same company for 4.5 years. I was declared blind almost 20 days prior to the cut. I lost the right to drive(did not effect my current job)
Legal Answer
An employer may not reduce your salary on the basis of you being declared legally blind. If you filed an EEOC complaint, your employer would have to substatiate that the cut was based on the economy or some other non-discriminitory reason. You should speak with a lawyer who handles ADA cases.
The Orsini & Rose Law Firm 410 Ware Boulevard, Suite 401 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33619
► Other answers from this attorney

