Florida | Administrative Law
Legal Question
estate letters
my father passed and left me as the beneficiary of his estate. However, shortly after he died I closed his bank account where I was an authorized signer, etc. I received a check from an insurance company in his name and I cannot cash it w/out an estate letter. What can I do?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: estate letters NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
What you need to do is to probate your father's estate. A petition will have to be filed wherein you ask the court to name you as the personal representative of the estate. Once you are named, then the court will issue Letters of Administration which authorizes you to conduct business on behalf of the estate. You will probably need to retain an attorney to handle this for you.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Gilbert & Caddy P.A.
Hollywood, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-02
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
florence f. hessen,esq
Wellington, FL
Questions Answered: 197
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-07
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Joel Bello, P.A.
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-08
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Bonifield, Friedman & Leifer, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 48
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Search Questions and Answers


