Florida | Administrative Law
Legal Question
Home Owner's Association abusing their authority?
We live in Lakeland FL in a subdivision with 40 mobile homes only. The HOA just had a meeting and decided to keep the association (they had been inactive for almost 2 yrs ). We don't see any need to have this HOA because each person owns their home with land, there is nothing the HOA is responsible for paying in our subdivision. Street lights and garbage taxes are paid annualy in our own personal taxes, there is no gate, no watch person, etc. Road belongs to the county, so it also comes from our taxes. The HOA charges $25/yr from each home but I don't see anything being done. There is no need for this since each one is responsible for their own expenses, insurances, keeping their yards, etc, etc. Is there a legal/not so expensive way to dissolve this HOA? They are presently using some of this money to promote a Xmas decoration contest. This is NOT written in the HOA papers. Aren't they abusing their authority and wouldn't this be a good reason to end it all? No serious use of our money, so why keep it?


