Florida  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
10/23/07, 5:43 pm

Legal Question


Neighborhood Covenant Assessed Fees

My neighborhood covenant committee sent me a letter dated 18 October 2007 assessing a $100 a day fee, as of the date on the letter, for my nonresponse to submitting Architectural Designs for a fence I am installing. I did not receive the letter until 20 Oct 07, which is documented by certified mail signature. I responded with the requested designs that same day. (20 Oct 07) The management company sending the letter did not open my email scanned documents until 22 Oct 07 the first business day after my receipt. They now say I owe $200 since the fine was assessed as of 18 Oct 07. It seems they should not be able to assess fines as of the date of the letter, it should be assessed from the date of signing. What are my options? Please site laws/statutes that I can use in my request for waiver letter.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search