Florida  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
9/23/00, 7:53 pm

Legal Question


Occupations of Right

I was licensed as a life insurance agent in 1987. In 1997 the state of Florida passed statute law that required agents to get continuing education each year.

I believed that I was grandfathered in so I never bothered to get the CE credits and this year when I wanted to use my insurance again I'm informed that I need 20 hours of class instruction, however before I can get the instruction I get another letter stating I should pay 250.00 fine plus the instruction, and they asked me to sign papers that would hold them harmless. My question is:

If I have a right of occupation how can the government enact a expost-facto law demanding that I submit to this CE credits that are enacted after I'm licensed? I never signed papers agreeing to this.

Where can I find info on Occupation of Right?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search