Florida | Administrative Law
Legal Question
I have a question regarding a name change. When I was very young, my mother remarried, and had me start using her new last name, but never legally changed mine. I have since grown up, gotten a social security card, drivers license, registered to vote, and done everything else under the new name. The only document I know of that has my old name is my birth certificate. My workplace is now requiring a birth certificate or passport with the same name as my driver's license and social security card. How do I go about either getting my name changed on my birth certificate or getting a passport with my existing documentation? My company has not given me a deadline other than 'as soon as possible', so I would need whichever solution would be quickest.


