Florida  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
3/08/10, 10:54 pm

Legal Question


Hello. How far does a teacher's authority extend outside the school campus, say on a field trip? Can the teacher enforce policies that are specific to the campus (e.g dress code)? Would students driving themselves to a different location outside the school campus, but in school hours to attend a class taught by a school employee be subjected to the school's policies? Would those students be under the school's responsibility (while they are off-campus) ?

I would appreciate it if someone could address these questions, thanks.


question bubble
3/15/10, 9:50 am

Legal Answer


generally yes to all

William Gwaltney

William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law 4832 Kerry Forest Parkway, Suite B Tallahassee, FL 32309

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search