Florida | Admiralty Law
Legal Question
Legal Authority
Does the Florida Marine Patrol have the legal authority to board and search your boat with out just cause?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Forrester |
Re: Legal Authority Assuming they are not improperly profiling, they can pretty much stop who they wish for safety and inspection, as well as all the usual reasons that pass scrunity under the 4th Amendment for automobile searches. You simply have a lesser reasonable expectation of privacy in a maritime environment, and besides alcohol use, you have issues of safe operation, equipment, immigration, smuggling, illegal fishing, registration, and others...
Diplay your hull registration properly, wear life vests, operate in a reasonable and safe manner, know the navigatible waters in your area, and obey the rules of navigation and you will greatly reduce the chances of your being stopped.
If we can be of assistance please feel free to contact us at Forrester & Associates, 256-435-1007. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Garvin Law Firm
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-04
Morgan & Morgan, P.A.
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Richard Vaughan, Esq.
Melbourne, FL
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-11
Aronberg & Aronberg, Injury Law Firm
Delray Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-24
Robert L. Gardana, PA
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-12
Accident Victims Rights Attorney Jason Turchin, Esq
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-05
Search Questions and Answers


