Florida  |  Admiralty Law

question bubble
5/14/09, 1:43 pm

Legal Question


Is the marina liable?

$30k in jet skis were stolen from a

marina in

Florida. The marina promised security

but

nobody has ever seen a security

officer.

There was no signed contract with

the

marina/condo board, they cashed

monthly

checks of $1k. Is the marina liable?


question bubble
5/14/09, 2:17 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Is the marina liable?

It would depend on a lot more facts than provided. You would need to prove that the security would have made a difference. Proving the "promise" of security (and the type would also be impportant. You may have a claim, but liability is not particularly clear or easy to prove.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search