Legal Question in Admiralty Law in Florida

can I sue the marnia for damages?

when I was considering the purchase of the vessel I called every marina with in a 50 mile radius. I was looking for a marnia that could accomindate our veseel and faimly I needed haul out for repairs,I needed a slip to dock the vessel,I needed drydock for live aboard so I could work on the vessel. and needed pump out for the heads. I was assurd by only one marina that they could accomindate us. So I spent 500.00 dollars and had the vessel moved to this marina. They also called us several times to see when we would be arriving. Once the vessel arrived they put us in a slip for a 34ft vessel. First full moon it sat on its side and broke the keel. When we wanted the heads pumped out they said there pump was broke and been that way for several months. When we wanted the vessel hauled out so we could work onit and liveaboard it they said no liveaboards allowed in the yard. Then we decided to haul it out just to work on it they refused to haul it out. Then the vessel sank and the marina had it removed and gave us the bill. What do I do now between the sellar and the marnia I am screwed.out atleast 20,000 plus all my faimlys belongings.

Asked on 12/08/97, 10:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It depends on several factors, see reply

Do you have contracts with the seller and marina?When did the sinking take place?Where are you and the marina?Let me know. PSH

Read more
12/08/97, 6:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

    A PHP Error was encountered

    Severity: Warning

    Message: Invalid argument supplied for foreach()

    Filename: views/new_publicquestionview.php

    Line Number: 137

More Admiralty Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now