Florida  |  Aviation Law

question bubble
11/01/02, 11:19 am

Legal Question


Is a boat considered a motor vehicle?

My wife and I were recently convicted of boating under the influence while operating our boat. (Yes, BOTH of us. One boat. One steering wheel. -it's a long story.)

I am an airline pilot and required to report convictions of MOTOR VEHICLE DUI/DWI's to the FAA.

So my question is this:

According to Florida law, is a boat considered to be a ''motor vehicle''?

Thanks.


question bubble
11/01/02, 11:39 am

Legal Answer


Re: Is a boat considered a motor vehicle?

A vessel [boat] is defined and treated differently from a motor vehicle under FL law. The operation of either while under the influence of liquor/drugs is a crime under FL law also.

A boat is, however, not a motor vehicle by definition and statutory treatment.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search