Florida  |  Aviation Law

question bubble
8/22/09, 2:56 pm

Legal Question


i was charged with selling tobacco to a minor while at working at a gas station and i want to know if i had the right to look at the ID when the cops came in and told me what i had did and then i later found out from a friend because they asked me if the cop read me my rights and I said No and they told me i could fight the case


question bubble
8/22/09, 4:43 pm

Legal Answer


The police do not have to read you your rights. If they do not, it just means that they can't use your statements made while in custody against you at trial. You can fight the case, but whether or not they read you your rights is probably irrelevant as to whether you will be convicted or not.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search