Florida | Aviation Law
Legal Question
SIC vs PIC Seat assignments in Cockpit
Is there any FAR or NTSB ruling that States that a Pilot in command must sit in the left seat.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Hunter Chamberlin |
Re: SIC vs PIC Seat assignments in Cockpit No. In fact, the issue as to who is the pilot in command is often murky, such as when a private pilot is getting instruction from an IFR instructor. Simply being in the left seat does not make one the pilot in command. Another example is a student pilot. Although sitting in the left seat, they are not a pilot, and thus cannot be a pilot in command.
I am curious as to the particular factual situation underpinning your question. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Garvin Law Firm
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-04
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Winters & Waite, LLC
Miami, Usvi, CO
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-07
Garry L. Potts, P.A.
Clearwater, FL
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-02
Lipcon, Margulies & Alsina, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-16
Penalta & Stiger, P.A.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Faddis, Oldham & Smith
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


