Florida  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
8/30/07, 11:20 am

Legal Question


Avoidance of lien

I have a bankruptcy filed in 2001, discharged in 2005. I am trying to refinance, and I find a lien against my property. The title company says they need a simple form faxed to them- an ''avoidance of lien'' filing and all will be well. The bankruptcy lawyer says he will have to file to ''reopen'' my bankruptcy before he can do that-all for about $1200.00. The title company says its a form that takes about 2 minutes to fill out. His receptionist (who made the appointment) also said that it takes only a few moments to fill out the form, they do it all the time. Who is right, the attorney or the title company?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search