Florida | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
ex filed, mom cosigner
My ex filed for ch 7.My mom is listed as a cosigner for his student loan.However I signed the loan because my ex made me.My ex was very abusive and I either did what he told me or he would hurt me.Most of the time he would hold me down and place his hand over my mouth and nose to cut off my air.He would also scream into my ear, spit on me, bite me and would call me ever vile name.He even made me believe that it was my fault that he was hurting me-because I resisted.He also harassed my mom(a single parent)at work and threatened to get her fired in order to get me to do whatever he wanted.I escaped that abusive relationship about 4yrs ago.My mom didn't report him because she was afraid of him and the threats he made if we ever threatened his career.Up to this time he had been repaying the loan.However, my ex,an attorney is working for his dad(also an attorney) and he filed ch7.I feel like I am reliving my nightmare because he is indirectly forcing us to pay for his student loan.I don't know what to do.My mom doesn't want to get me in trouble.She could sue him for the money but I know that he won't pay.He's a liar and he is manipulative.I don't want to be a victim all over again.Please Help.


