Florida  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/30/09, 12:30 pm

Legal Question


If my home is in foreclousure and now is ready to be sold next month but my father name appears on my mortgage but he has others properties can he file for bankrupcy to stop teh procedure of selling the house.

Thanks,

Maria


question bubble
11/04/09, 3:11 pm

Legal Answer


The answer is possibly. Your father needs to consult with a bankruptcy attorney to review his options. There are many factors to be considered before he decides wheter he should file.

William Gwaltney

William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
4832 Kerry Forest Parkway, Suite B
Tallahassee, FL 32309

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/04/09, 3:42 pm

Legal Answer


If your father is one of the defendants in the foreclosure case (because he's a co-signor on the mortgage), then his filing bankruptcy will stop the foreclosure sale. However, the foreclosing bank can always file a motion in the bankruptcy court asking for permission to complete the foreclosure sale, and that will be probably be granted. Whether your father is a good candidate for bankruptcy is another question, given his total assets and debts. Our firm handles a lot of bankruptcy cases, as well as foreclosure defense cases. We would be happy to discuss the situation with you. We offer a free initial consultation.

Steven Meyer

Law Offices of Steven Meyer
2295 N.W. Corporate Blvd., Suite 117
Boca Raton, FL 33431

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search