Florida  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
6/26/04, 2:12 am

Legal Question


Notifying Collectors

I have aprox 35K in credit card debt (two cards), hospital bill ($500). ... I hit a bad stretch on the job front and have had to resort to telemarketing just to make ends meet. ... Anyway, the two credit card debts have been sold to agencies/law firms (I have been unable to make payments since last Oct). ... I should have enough funds saved up in the next month-to-six weeks to file Chapter 7.

My question is: I get several calls a week from the collection agencies. Should I tell them that I plan to file Chapter 7 shortly? If so, what kind of reaction can I expect from them?

PS: Outside of my 11-year old car, I don't have any assets.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search