Florida  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/03/13, 12:44 am

We have paid our final payment in chap 13 bankruptcy but have not received our discharge yet.. we surrendered a house in the bankruptcy, but they still haven't foreclosed on it after 3 years..can we quit claim the property to someone else for a $1000?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/03/13, 4:27 am by R. Jason de Groot

No, you cannot quitclaim the home to someone else besides perhaps the lender.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


R. Jason de Groot, P.A. PO Box 5775 Deltona, FL 32728

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 6:27 am by Sanford M. Martin

Also, Chap 13 bankruptcy and foreclosure are two different processes. Banks or lenders control foreclosure and often wait, for various reasons, several years. Chap 13 awaits the

Trustee to make a final accounting and ask the court to close the case. You can still work

out a DIL (deed in lieu) with your lender to resolve the foreclosure, but often banks will not

mediate, renegotiate, or modify the terms, for whatever reason serves their objectives.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sanford M. Martin, P.A. P.O. Box 110554 Naples, FL 34108-0110

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/05/13, 6:12 pm by Charles Andersen

After three years things start to change a little bit due to laches on the part of the creditor. So long as the buyer has full knowledge that the bank can foreclose the house at any time without further notice, I suppose it's allright, but speak with a local attorney first.

http:/www.absolutebankruptcy.org/Chapter_7_Objections.htm


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Charles Andersen, Atty 1761 Hotel Circle S. Suite 270 San Diego, CA 9208

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search