Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
arbitration ruling dismissed?
I have a question about an arbitration ruling.
- we went to arbitration with that company and we were awarded $475 (way less then what we were seeking)
- we made repeated attempts to get them to pay the $475 (emails and 2 certified letters).... they never responded.....
- is the fact that they never paid reason enough to have the judgment thrown out and heard again in front of a real judge?
- they never did what was ordered of them, so they are in violation of the contract (specifically the arbitration provision).
- Is this breach grounds to have the judgement dismissed and reheard in a real court of law?
- Also we requested clarification/justification of the ruling, the arbitrator refused to supply us with one.
- The arbitrator had never gone to law school --- so he had never been a lawyer or judge, can he be making rulings on contract law?
- Is there any case law that would support our case?
Please let us know, I appreciate any feedback, advice or suggestions you may have. thanks!


