Florida  |  Business Law

question bubble
7/31/00, 3:18 pm

Legal Question


Company Name Infringement

We are a small cellular phone sales business. We have independent sales representatives that sell through our company. One of the independent sales representatives has claimed to be a partner in our company (this is untrue) and has now decided to terminate his relationship with the us. Our problem is this: the rep has taken it upon himself to start up his own business using our name "Smart Talking" with one slight difference, he is calling it "Smart Talking II".

We believe this is an infringement of our company name and can lead clients to believe that he is another division/entity of our company. This can cause us to lose major dealerships with major cellular companies. What laws can protect us, can we fight this issue?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search