Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
Costly Advertising Error
Both my husband and I, after years of careful planning, stopped working in the corporate world and began our own small business. One of the main expenditures (besides insurance) is advertising.
We started last year with a very small ad in one of the 'yellow pages' books and it quickly provided leads to us and helped our business grow. When we both left the corporate world, we were in discussions with another, larger ''yellow pages'' book and took out a 1/4 page ad in two different geographical areas. The staff that was putting together the ads sent several proofs and finally we were satisfied.
On the day before the changes before printing closed, we were contacted by our ad-man who stated that the business name would need to be included in the ad. We had no problem with that and were assured that it would be in small print at the bottom of the ad. When the books were printed, our company name, which has nothing to do with this particular ad, was in huge print, completely over-shadowing the message of the ad.
We feel that this will cost us many thousands of dollars in business (based on the fact that a very small ad brought in a lot of revenue).
They are not willing to negotiate. Do you think we have a case?


