Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
What is the difference between an LLC and a "S" corporation?
What is the difference between an LLC and a "S" corporation?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward J. Chandler |
What is the difference between an LLC and a "S" corporation? What is the difference between an LLC and a "S" corporation?
Both entities offer limited liability protection to the owners and pass-through taxation, however the LLC is more flexible in structure. In an "S" corporation, profits and losses pass-through to the stockholders in proportion to their ownership interest. If you own 50% of the stock you can be taxed at 50% of the profits or losses.
LLCs can be structured to divide income and tax liability however they wish, regardless of percentage of ownership. You may own 50% of the business, but elect to have only 20% of the profits reflected on your personal 1040, passing the additional income to an owner in a more favorable tax bracket. The possibilities are vast. Also, "S" corporations require all stockholders be US citizens and limit the number of stockholders to 75. There are no such restrictions with an LLC. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7773
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


