Florida  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 8:47 am

Legal Question


My electric company; LCEC, has notified me that they are going to charge an extra deposit to my account because I made a late payment. If I don't pay the extra deposit they are going to shut off my electricity. Is this legal? Isn't this extortion?


question bubble
11/21/09, 10:02 am

Legal Answer


It is totally legal and not extortion. You need to pay the extra deposit to maintain your electric connection.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 10:44 am

Legal Answer


No it is not extortion.

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search