Florida  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/07/10, 12:48 pm

I own a food distribution business. In short our supplier raised our prices to such an unbelievable level that it forced us to move the business to other suppliers. After we were forced to do this they dropped their prices back to the original pricing that we were selling our customers at and chased the business with their own in house people. They never came to me and offered to lower my prices and instead they told our customers that we lied about the prices to get them to buy other products and offered to sell them at the original pricing that we were at before the increase.

I believe that it was their intention to force us out and chase the business for themselves In effect cutting us out. So far I have lost almost one million dollars a year in income. do I have legal recourse?

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/12/10, 1:19 pm by Bob Arnold

Possibly. There is a clear line between honest competition and Business Defamation combined with Tortious Interference with a Business Relationship. I'd have to see the underlying agreement and facts to let you know precisely.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/12/10, 2:58 pm by Richard Kaplan

Possibly as to slander/defamation etc. However, you have to remember, "It's Business." Any underlining agreement may be critical.

Of course if they really wanted to compete with you, they could have easily just cut you off, and started up their own distribution system. By moving you out, it may have done you a favor.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/17/10, 8:36 am by Steven Meyer

You might have some claims against the supplier, but I would need to review any agreements and contracts that you have and get some more information from you. Our office is in Boca Raton, and I'm one of only six attorneys in Boca (out of more than 1,500) who are board certified in business litigation. We offer a free initial consultation, and I'd be happy to discuss the situation with you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Steven Meyer 2295 N.W. Corporate Blvd., Suite 117 Boca Raton, FL 33431

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search