Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
My friend worked a seasonal job with a catering company at the TPC Championship. The job's final day was May 9, 2010. the employees were informed to expect their checks around the 21st of May. By the 24th of May, others that had worked with my friend had received their checks but his had not arrived in the mail. Upon calling the company, they claimed that the check was not sendable because the name of his apartment complex was not included on the address information. We've called the Postal Service to verify this claim and they said that it is not required. So, we called the catering company and let them know that this check has to be sent out ASAP, overnighted if neccessary. They made no promises on the overnight shipping, but my friend was told that the check was being resent on Friday (May 28, 2010) and he should expect it on Tuesday (June 1, 2010). The check still has no arrived and he has financial obligations that are being held up because of this. Is there any kind of legal action that he can use against this?


