Florida  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 7:15 pm

Legal Question


I need to know do I have a good case for breach of contract? We had a verbal agreement to install a fence, I drew up a propsel he agreed to the price.and to save him money he was to get the permit,he called me a few days later with some excuse that he couldnt get the permit because there was a irs lean on the house and that he couldnt get a permit because it was over 2000.00 and then he said that he couldnt get it until he took ownership of the house,so he was to close on the house on the 18th of oct. so he was to call me back then and thats how we left it.so at the end of the month of oct I took a ride to his house to see what was going on and there was a fence already installed. I emailed him and more excuses came,he sais that the courthouse told him we were not licenced ( I have always been currant and up to date with my business licence) he said the old home owner gave him fence .and the whole time he was telling the neightbors daughter( who he works with ) that he wanted us to do the work for him.soI need to know what I can do I was counting on the money from the job to pay bills with


question bubble
11/21/09, 11:31 pm

Legal Answer


You were not hired to do the job. I hate to sound crass, but get over it and move on. You did no work, you were not hired, and the client is free to hire whomever he wants to do the job, and it was not you.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 11:50 am

Legal Answer


You never gave up anything of value, and it seems he decided to use someone else instead of accepting your proposal. If you want to make sure you have an agreement, put it in writing. Regards,

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search